Kevin Diehl (US)
#Sonic Liberation Front

Paiste Artist Since Oct 2008


13" Signature Dark Energy Dark Energy Hats Mark I
17" Signature Dark Energy Dark Energy Crash Mark I
18" Signature Dark Energy Ride custom
13" Signature Mega Cup Chime
20" Signature Flat Ride
16" Signature Thin China


"I was in Central Park the first time I heard it. It was Latin and African at the same time. It was instantly everything to me," says drummer/percussionist Kevin Diehl. br/>
What he heard would change his musical direction for the next decades. What he heard was bata drums for the first time. Diehl had stumbled upon was Jerry Gonzales and some of the drummers that would make Gonzales seminal “Ya Yo Me Curé album in 1982. br/>
A few month’s later Jerry, along with Papo Vasquez, would join Kevin’s Blue Riders project for a brief stint of Latin Jazz and Fusion recording and gigs. br/>
After Diehl moved back to Philadelphia a few years later, his chance meeting of some bataleros at an Art Blakey concert put him in touch with the emerging Lukumi (Afro Cuban Yoruba) culture in Philadelphia. Kevin soon became an active student, player and performer of Batá within the Lukumi community. br/>
Coupled with the mentorship of his longtime friend Sunny Murray, Diehl developed a unique forging of the loft jazz scene and Afro-Cuban sounds. br/>
In the late 1990s, Diehl founded Sonic Liberation Front as an outlet for his ideas. Fronted by a trio of bata players paired with a horn section and jazz rhythm section, SLF quickly became known as one of Philadelphia's most innovative bands. International acclaim for Diehl's compositions and arrangements followed with the release of the band's breakthrough Ashe A Go-Go album in 2004. Sonic Liberation Front has been named #1 or Top 10 by the Village Voice, All About Jazz, Jazziz, and more. br/>
Kevin Diehl has also regularly performed with Sun Ra Arkestra Trombonist, Tyrone Hill; Pianist, Raymond King; and Vibraphonist Khan Jamal br/>
Guest artists who've appeared with Sonic Liberation Front include: Marshall Allen + Odean Pope, Sunny Murray, Andy Gonzalez, Badal Roy, and Michele Rosewoman.